BCE Distinguished Service Award




BURLINGAME, Calif., May 24, 2021 – Burlingame Community for Education Foundation (BCE) is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2021 BCE Distinguished Service Award, Emily and Duff Beach. This award recognizes their exemplary volunteer service, leadership, and commitment to the BCE mission to help Burlingame School District sustain and enhance an exceptional public education for all TK-8th grade students.

Over the years both Emily and Duff have supported BCE through their volunteer service and financial support for the benefit of all schools in the Burlingame School District. Emily served on the BCE Board of Directors from 2011 - 2015 as VP Lead Donors, President-Elect, and two years as President. During her time on the Board, Emily helped increase the annual fundraising grant to Burlingame School District from $1.0 to $1.795 million (nearly 80% growth) by growing and galvanizing the BCE VolunteerCorps. She also helped revamp the board structure, mission statement, bylaws, and establish the BCE Endowment Fund. 

BCE’s mission, providing Burlingame School District with financial resources to create a rich and inspiring education for our children beyond what is possible with public funds, is accomplished as a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization that is almost entirely staffed by a volunteer workforce including an 18-member Board of Directors and more than 150 VolunteerCorps and day-of-event volunteers.

“BCE’s success as an organization to raise money every year for our public schools has everything to do with the number of dedicated and talented parents who volunteer their time on behalf of BCE. The Beaches are particularly committed to ensuring that Burlingame public schools have the means to provide all of our children with an excellent education. It is with great pleasure that we recognize them for their dedication to our mission,” says BCE President Liz Anderson.

Emily and Duff will be honored at a special public event at a later date.



Emily & Duff Beach (2021)

Florence Wong and Andrew Haskell (2020)

Malinda Pauly and Dan Sutherlin (2020)

Kendra and Rob Wehmeyer (2020)

Elizabeth and Cristos Goodrow (2019)

Sarah and Karl Wiley (2019)

Jenese and Paul Sieben (2019)

Marc and Betsy Rosen (2018)

Steve and Melissa Macko (2018)

Reid and Jennifer Liebhaber (2018)

Dave and Kelly Tillman (2017)

Paul Cousineau and Christine Thorsteinson (2016)

Mark and Kimberly Rosales (2015)

Robert and Deborah Hirth (2015)

Brian and Jenifer Beswick (2014)

Eric and Donna Colson (2014)